Computing Reviews
Today's Issue Hot Topics Search Browse Recommended My Account Log In
Home Topics Titles Quotes Blog Featured Help
Search
 
H. Van Dyke Parunak
AxonAI, Inc.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
 

H. Van Dyke Parunak is Vice President for Technology Innovation at AxonAI, Inc. He has extensive experience in both academic and industrial environments with chaos and complex systems, artificial intelligence, distributed computing, and human interfaces. Since 1984, he led the Agent-based and Complex Systems Research group, housed since 1984 in a variety of companies, studying swarm intelligence, emergent behavior, and nonlinear dynamics. In 2013, AxonAI was formed to commercialize these results.

His major research accomplishments include fine-grained agent architectures for a variety of manufacturing and defense functions, emphasizing applications of nonlinear dynamics and chaos theory to analyzing and controlling agent communities. He and his colleagues develop applications that take advantage of the self-organizing potential of very simple agents when they interact through a shared environment, inspired by examples in biological and ecological systems. He is the author or co-author of more than 200 technical articles and reports, and the coinventor on 13 patents in the area of agent technology.

Parunak has worked as a project designer and associate investigator at Harvard University, as an Assistant Professor and Postdoctoral Scholar at the University of Michigan, and as a computer scientist with Comshare, Inc. His research was done at the Industrial Technology Institute, ERIM, Altarum, NewVectors, TechTeam Government Solutions, Jacobs Technology Group, and Soar Technology. He received an AB in Physics from Princeton University (1969), an MS in Computer and Communication Sciences from the University of Michigan (1982), and a PhD in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations from Harvard University (1978). He is a member of the American Association for Artificial Intelligence and the Association for Computing Machinery.

--

Updated March 1, 2016


     

Modeling and simulation with Compose and Activate
Campbell S., Nikoukhah R.,  Springer International Publishing, New York, NY, 2019. 447 pp. Type: Book (978-3-030048-84-6)

This volume offers a detailed look at a new environment for systems modeling based on the open matrix language (OML), a relatively new language for numerical computation in the tradition of MATLAB, Octave, Scilab, and Julia. The environment includ...

 

Practical modelling of dynamic decision making
Evertsz R., Thangarajah J., Ly T.,  Springer International Publishing, New York, NY, 2019. 116 pp. Type: Book (978-3-319951-94-2)

Computational models hold considerable promise for planning and prediction in applied domains such as military operations. But such models face a knowledge acquisition bottleneck when applying them to complex real-world problems. For example, agen...

 

 Stochastic computing: techniques and applications
Gross W., Gaudet V.,  Springer International Publishing, New York, NY, 2019. 215 pp. Type: Book (978-3-030037-29-1)

Stochastic computing is an approach to numerical computing that dates back to von Neumann’s work on probabilistic logics in 1952, and that requires far fewer transistors than conventional numerical processing. This economy led to extensive r...

 

 Codes, cryptology and curves with computer algebra
Pellikaan R., Wu X., Bulygin S., Jurrius R.,  Cambridge University Press, New York, NY, 2018. 606 pp. Type: Book (978-0-521520-36-2)

This volume offers a terse, highly formal exposition of the relation between the four subjects named in the title: codes (transformations of a stream of information), cryptology (transformations that seek to hide the original content), curves (spe...

 

Calendrical calculations: the ultimate edition (4th ed.)
Reingold E., Dershowitz N.,  Cambridge University Press, New York, NY, 2018. 662 pp. Type: Book (978-1-107683-16-7)

Calendrical computation is motivated by a collision between incommensurability and importance. The month (the time from one new moon to another) is not an integral number of days, and the year (the time between successive spring equinoxes) is not ...

 
  more...

 
Send Your Comments
Contact Us
Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited.   Copyright © 2000-2019 ThinkLoud, Inc.
Terms of Use
| Privacy Policy