Computing Reviews
Today's Issue Hot Topics Search Browse Recommended My Account Log In
Home Topics Titles Quotes Blog Featured Help
Search
 
H. Van Dyke Parunak
AxonAI, Inc.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
 

H. Van Dyke Parunak is Vice President for Technology Innovation at AxonAI, Inc. He has extensive experience in both academic and industrial environments with chaos and complex systems, artificial intelligence, distributed computing, and human interfaces. Since 1984, he led the Agent-based and Complex Systems Research group, housed since 1984 in a variety of companies, studying swarm intelligence, emergent behavior, and nonlinear dynamics. In 2013, AxonAI was formed to commercialize these results.

His major research accomplishments include fine-grained agent architectures for a variety of manufacturing and defense functions, emphasizing applications of nonlinear dynamics and chaos theory to analyzing and controlling agent communities. He and his colleagues develop applications that take advantage of the self-organizing potential of very simple agents when they interact through a shared environment, inspired by examples in biological and ecological systems. He is the author or co-author of more than 200 technical articles and reports, and the coinventor on 13 patents in the area of agent technology.

Parunak has worked as a project designer and associate investigator at Harvard University, as an Assistant Professor and Postdoctoral Scholar at the University of Michigan, and as a computer scientist with Comshare, Inc. His research was done at the Industrial Technology Institute, ERIM, Altarum, NewVectors, TechTeam Government Solutions, Jacobs Technology Group, and Soar Technology. He received an AB in Physics from Princeton University (1969), an MS in Computer and Communication Sciences from the University of Michigan (1982), and a PhD in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations from Harvard University (1978). He is a member of the American Association for Artificial Intelligence and the Association for Computing Machinery.

--

Updated March 1, 2016


     

Observability: a new theory based on the group of invariance
Martinelli A.,  SIAM, Philadelphia, PA, 2020. 262 pp. Type: Book (978-1-611976-24-3)

In control theory, the mathematics of observability are well understood for linear systems. Martinelli addresses the far more complex problem of nonlinear systems, in particular those that include some unknown inputs. His approach is based on the ...

 

Modeling and simulation with Compose and Activate
Campbell S., Nikoukhah R.,  Springer International Publishing, New York, NY, 2019. 447 pp. Type: Book (978-3-030048-84-6)

This volume offers a detailed look at a new environment for systems modeling based on the open matrix language (OML), a relatively new language for numerical computation in the tradition of MATLAB, Octave, Scilab, and Julia. The environment includ...

 

 Stochastic computing: techniques and applications
Gross W., Gaudet V.,  Springer International Publishing, New York, NY, 2019. 215 pp. Type: Book (978-3-030037-29-1)

Stochastic computing is an approach to numerical computing that dates back to von Neumann’s work on probabilistic logics in 1952, and that requires far fewer transistors than conventional numerical processing. This economy led to extensive r...

 

Stochastic geometry: modern research frontiers
Coupier D.,  Springer International Publishing, New York, NY, 2019. 248 pp. Type: Book (978-3-030135-46-1)

In the era BC (“before computers”), the standard way to reason about geometric objects, dating back to Euclid, was a logical proof system based on axioms. This approach is symbolic, dealing with entities such as points and lines. It le...

 

 Introduction to distributed self-stabilizing algorithms
Altisen K., Devismes S., Dubois S., Petit F.,  Morgan&Claypool Publishers, San Rafael, CA, 2019. 166 pp. Type: Book (978-1-681735-36-8)

Distribution is one of the most pervasive features of modern computing architectures. From the multiple specialized processors that make up a personal computer, to the network of computers in a modern automobile, to the Internet itself, modern sys...

 
  more...

 
Send Your Comments
Contact Us
Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited.   Copyright © 2000-2021 ThinkLoud, Inc.
Terms of Use
| Privacy Policy